The Department of Physics was established in the academic year 1956 with undergraduate programme in Physics. Late Bhabendra Nath Saikia noted Film Producer and Ex Professor of Gauhati University was the founder teacher of the department who served a period of his carrier. The department had grown up in the hands of a highly devoted and diligent group of educationists which includes M.E. Chakoo, Dr. Jogyeswar Hatibaruah, Narendra Nath Dutta, Nakul Ch. Baruah, Kalpana Baruah, BirenGohain, Late Makhan Ch. Bhattacharyya, Late Sibanath Barman, Late Devi Prasad Borgohain, Dr. Jabeen Ahmed, etc. and in the due course of time, the department have been able to create a niche in the area of higher education in this part of the country. The department has now developed with modern facilities and state of art equipments to cater the needs of advanced curriculum as well as advanced research providing an enthusiastic atmosphere for the students to work around. The Department has a strong research base and the faculty members have been actively engaged in research work in the field of material science, nanoscience and thin film device fabrication. The faculty members of the Department are also actively associated with organizing workshops and seminars for students. The Department has seen the progress made by the efforts of our Stakeholders, it is promising and motivating. During 2017 the department earned the recognition of PG department under DU, we are now acquiring a cutting-edge facility together with unique Research Laboratory that initiates our students to the future. One research scholar from Material Science Laboratory, PG Department of Physics, Sibsasgar College, Joysagar have been able to receive Ph.D. degree from Dibrugarh University in year 2017. At present, the department aims in developing academically competent and professionally motivated young leaders, equipped with objective and critical thinking, which can compassionately foster the scientific temper with a sense of social responsibility. The PG Department has now six numbers (one lien) of well-qualified and dedicated faculty that excels both in teaching and research. COURSES OFFERED- 1. B. Sc. in Physics: Intake Capacity: 60 2. M. Sc. in Physics: Intake Capacity: 15+2(Endowment) (Course started Since 2017)

Students in the LAB

National Webinar (NWOCMSS-2021)

Lecture Series Under DBT Scheme

Lecture Series under DBT Scheme

Academic Audit Peer Team visit in the department

Faculty Members of the department

Front view of the Department

Copyright © 2022 Sibsagar College
Powered By S.S. Technologies