About the Department of Physics, Sibsagar College, Joysagar

The Department of Physics was established in the academic year 1956 with undergraduate programme in Physics. Late Bhabendra Nath Saikia was the founder teacher of the department who served a period of his carrier. The department had grown up in the hand of a highly devoted and diligent group of educationist which includes M.E. Chako, Narendra Nath Dutta, Nakul Ch. Baruah, Kalpana Baruah, Biren Gohain, Late Makhan Ch. Bhattacharyya, Late Sibanath Barman, Late Devi Prasad Borgohain, Dr. Jabeen Ahmed, etc. and in the due course of time, the department have been able to create a niche in the area of higher education in this part of the country. The department has now developed with modern facilities and state of art equipments to cater the needs of advanced curriculum as well as advanced research providing an enthusiastic atmosphere for the students to work around. The Department has a strong research base and the faculty members have been actively engaged in research work in the field of material science, nanoscience and thin film device fabrication. The faculty members of the Department are also actively associated with organizing workshops and seminars for students. One research scholar from Material Science Laboratory, Department of Physics, Sibsasgar College, Joysagar have been able to receive Ph.D. degree from Dibrugarh University in year 2017. At present, the department aims in developing academically competent and professionally motivated young leaders, equipped with objective and critical thinking, which can compassionately foster the scientific temper with a sense of social responsibility. The Department has now six number of well-qualified and dedicated faculty that excels both in teaching and research.

Teaching Staff : Non-Teaching Staff :
Permanent : 06 Lab Instructor : 01
Temporary : 02 Lab Bearer : 03